The News Gram Online

Evie Rodriguez

Website URL:


Wednesday, 17 April 2013 21:56 Published in April 2013

BY: Rey Sifuentes



A number of female soccer players from both C.C. Winn and Eagle Pass High School were recently picked for the All-District 29-5A team.       Making the first all-district roster were EPHS’s Karen Herrera and Nataly Ramirez, and CCWN’s Jazmine Aguinaga and Neomi Esquivel.      Named to the second all-district team were CCWN’s Alexandra Bass and Tanya Flores, as well as EPHS’s Aliyah Torres and Karen Trevino.      Receiving Honorable Mention were EPHS’s Cecilia Contreras and Laura Gloria, and CCWN’s Margarita Ibarra and Elizabeth Barbara.       Selected for the All-District 29-5A roster were Lisa Garcia (94.72 gpa), Laura Gloria (94.37 gpa), and Karen Herrera (96.69 gpa).  



Eagle Pass and C.C. Winn High School’s varsity softball teams met on Tuesday for the regular season finale for both teams.      The Lady Eagles came out on top 13-1.      EPHS scored four runs in the first inning, five in the second, and four in the third. CCWN mustered its lone run in the second stanza.      Both teams left a number of runners stranded during the contest – EPHS (six), CCWN (four).      Krystal De La Cruz (winning pitcher for EPHS) struck out three batters, walked one, and only allowed a single hit in four innings of work.      Brittany Perez (CCWN) dismissed one batter, walked three and allowed seven hits while throwing a complete game.      Making hits for the Lady Eagles were Keanna Cisneros (2-2), Krystal De La Cruz (2-3), Jessica Garcia (2-3), Monica Flores (2-4), Sandra Mendoza (1-3), Samantha De Leon (1-2) and Krystal Perez (1-2).      Getting on base for the Lady Mavericks were Rose Mary Hernandez (1-3), Ari Ruiz (1-2), and Ronnie Valdez (1-2).        CCWN lost its previous game against Laredo United 6-3 on Friday, April 12. The Lady Mavericks scored twice in the first inning and once in the fourth.        Brittany Perez struck out two batters, walked two, and allowed 12 hits during five innings on the mound. Amberly Perez struck out two hitters, walked four and allowed seven to get on base.      Getting on base for CCWN were Rose Mary Hernandez (2-3), Ari Ruiz (1-2), and Amberly Garza (1-3).  



The University Interscholastic League recently shrugged off a protest by Del Rio High School against Eagle Pass High School’s Mile Relay team.      EPHS head track coach Roger Olivas, on Tuesday, told the News Gram that Del Rio wanted the Eagles’ mile relay team disqualified because of an alleged infraction.      Del Rio’s track and field coordinator claimed that the Eagles mile relay team – which has legally rotated as many as eight runners all season long -  used an ineligible runner on their mile-relay team, which finished second to Del Rio’s during the finals of the District 29-5A meet held at the local Student Activity Center last Thursday through Saturday.      Olivas also stated that he and Del Rio’s track coordinator had already had a dispute – days prior - over whether an eligible runner needed to be on a ‘relay list’; which Olivas said was unnecessary as the list was not mandatory by anyone.      One of the officials at the district track meet agreed with Del Rio’s track coordinator, which prompted Olivas to contact U.I.L. at the beginning of this week.      “I spoke to Traci Neely with U.I.L. and she said it was the most ridiculous protest she has ever heard,” Olivas said. “She said she had about 50 other protests to look into, and that this one was the most ridiculous.”      Thus the Eagles’ mile relay team will still advance to the area meet which will be held in Weslaco this Friday and Saturday.      (Rey Sifuentes Jr. is the sports editor of the Mount Pleasant Daily Tribune which is located in East Texas . He is also a 1992 graduate of Eagle Pass High School . Sifuentes can be reached on Facebook and at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. . You can also follow him through Twitter at @sportspirate.)

Lady Eagles Win District

Wednesday, 17 April 2013 21:54 Published in April 2013

A.D. Ibarra 

Del Rio

The Eagle Pass Lady Eagles re-established themselves as the class of District 29-AAAAA with a resounding 9-4 victory over the Del Rio Queens on Friday. The Queens jumped out to a 4-0 lead with three runs in the first inning and another in the second before your Lady Eagles eventually finally dented the scoreboard in the top of the fourth with a rally which began with a triple by Keanna Cisneros and was driven in on a double by pitcher Krystal De La Cruz. 4-1 Queens after four complete. This rally was followed by a two-run outburst in the sixth when Samantha Fuentes singled and Sairah Gonzalez, who came in to pinch run scored when Sandra Mendoza drew a walk and Jessica Garcia drove in Gonzalez with a base hit and Dariela Velasquez got herself an RBI with a single of her own to bring in Mendoza. 4-3 Queens after five and a half. The Burnt Orange and White silenced all naysayers in the top of the seventh and got closer to yet another district championship when they erupted for six big runs with Flerida Castillón, who courtesy ran for De La Cruz who led the inning off with a single, scoring on a base-clearing smash by Sandra Mendoza to drive in three runs after Samantha Fuentes reached on an error and Krystal Perez got on with another one of her signature slap bunts. Mendoza scored on a passed ball and then Monica Flores made her presence felt by the Del Rio crowd with a double and Gonzalez came in to run moving to third on another errant pitch. Garcia walked and stole second and Gonzalez came home on the throw to cap the scoring. For the Eagles it was nine runs on 13 hits and one error. For the Queens it was four runs on 12 hits and three errors. Krystal De La Cruz went 3 for 4 and Jessica Garcia was 2 for 4. Monica Flores went 2 for 5 and Mendoza was 2 for 3 on the evening.

In a letter addressed to both Mr. Rudy Bowles and Mr. Jesus Diaz-Wever from Dr. Roger Shultz, Professor Emeritus of Theatre at Texas A&M University, the critic-judge at this years District 29 AAAAA One Act Play Contest commended the efforts of both schools and their dedicated teachers and students.


The letter reads as follows:


WOW! Do you ever have some talented, well-behaved students and some remarkably dedicated teachers! As the critic-judge at this year's District 29 AAAAA One-Act Play Contest, I just wanted to let you know how impressed I was by Cynthia Sepulveda and Adolfo Flores along with their students. Their production of Voices and David & Lisa were delightful. Equally, if not more important, was the overall behavior of the Eagle Pass High School/ C.C. Winn students. At a time when there are many complaints and concerns about "kids today," I am pleased to report to you that the students in your theatre program were excellent ambassadors for your school and your community. As a classroom teacher, theatre director and theatre adjudicator/respondent for the last forty years, I know what makes for good productions and good students-good directors! And you certainly have that. The performance and the exemplary behavior of your students was the direct result of your teacher's knowledgeable, industrious and dedicated leadership. In short, you were represented by "winners" at this year's UIL One-Act Play Contest.

Cordially, Roger Schultz, Ph.D. Professor Emeritus of Theatre